Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Contrary To Popular Belief...Fact #1

I recently picked up this book called "Contrary To Popular Belief". I thought it would be fun to periodically post some of the "facts" on here.

Fact #1. George Washington was the ninth president of the United States.

"The United States was established on July 4, 1776. George Washington was inaugurated president thirteen years later, on April 30, 1789. During the intervening years, the Second Continental Congress in Philadelphia drew up the Articles of Confederation (the first American constitution). In 1781, Maryland representative John Hanson was elected the first 'president of the Congress of the United States in Congress Assembled.' After Hanson, seven other men served as president: Elias Boudinot, Thomas Mifflin, Richard Henry Lee, John Hancock, Nathaniel Gorham, Arthur St. Clair, and Cyrus Griffin. In 1787, Congress held a constitutional convention. The delegates wrote the current constitution, ratified by the states in 1788. The following year, the ratifying states elected Washington our nation's ninth president (but the first president under the new constitution)."

These facts come from the book "Contrary To Popular Belief" by Joey Green and are not my own words.

No comments:

Post a Comment